Working! Rudimentary Salesforce API Client in a BPM

Ok, I know I’m a terrible coder, and that’s partly why I’m posting this. I know I’ll get things working but I don’t know standards / best practices. Some things I know, like use a transaction scope or make the company explicit, but there are things like naming conventions or commenting conventions that I’ve just never learned, being all self-taught, so please feel free to give any level of feedback.

The challenge is to update Salesforce when one of many things occurs. It took a lot of scouring of this forum and the net, with many thanks to @timshuwy, @Aaron_Moreng, @Mark_Wonsil, @ckrusen, @jgiese.wci , @josecgomez, @hkeric.wci and many others from the usual cast of suspects. I started out not knowing which end of an API you blow on and thinking Json was a weird way to spell my kid’s name.

I have this now, activated by a UBAQ just as a repeatable trigger.

//SF Salesforce Thingy

//Login & get Bearer Token

string loginMsg = "";

string appUrl = "https://test.salesforce.com/services/oauth2/token" ;

var crmClient = new RestClient(appUrl);

var request = new RestRequest (Method.POST) { RequestFormat = DataFormat.Json };

request.AddParameter("grant_type", "password");

request.AddParameter("client_id", "3MVG9ayzKZt5EleF5ZgnAfpIhI9xobfuscatedbunch_6leLRZ8oftextnotthisi1gzRRipKiUzFSojROIURb8vz");

request.AddParameter("client_secret", "F53A22ACB8Anotsecret2deletedstufftooF2D56ifididn'tchangethisA1FB90D3FD39E5A9171E6F5blahblahblahE330B");

request.AddParameter("username", "myusername");

request.AddParameter("password", "mypassword");

request.AddHeader("Content-Type", "application/x-www-form-urlencoded");

var response = crmClient.Execute(request);

string msg = response.Content.ToString();

Ice.Diagnostics.Log.WriteEntry(msg);

string jmsg = @"{'login1':[" + msg + "]}";

DataSet crmData = Newtonsoft.Json.JsonConvert.DeserializeObject<DataSet>(jmsg);