Does anyone have any C# documentation of working with XML/JSON and calling a 3rd party API?

I am brand new to APIs and am struggling to find comprehensive documentation. My goal is to run a post method to an external website to get freight quotes by passing through 9 parameters. I have all of the information I need to connect to the url, but I’m a bit confused on how to pass the necessary parameters. Does anyone have any documentation that will help me to understand this whole process? Sorry if I’m using incorrect terminology - please feel free to educate me!

https://yourserver/yourenvironment/api/help/v1

The generated Swagger docs are better than the formal documentation. They’re a great resource for working with business objects in BPMs, too. Change v1 to v2 for the v2 docs. These docs will tell you whether each method is GET, POST, etc., and you can play around with what happens with different parameter values. Is that what you mean by how to pass the parameters?

Doesn’t that documentation only outline how to call APIs within Epicor’s business library? I’m trying to connect to an outside company’s API; they sent me the documentation for what the request payload will look like. By parameters, I mean the nodes in the request payload.

Ah, I totally misunderstood you question. Are you asking how to make HTTP requests in general? What kind of program will be making these requests? I mean, are you thinking of making these requests as needed from inside Epicor, or from an external program like a Windows service?

1 Like

I’m sitting in a coffee shop waiting for someone to get back to me about why our VPN isn’t working, so I’ll hazard a guess…