Innovation

I would love to hear about innovative examples you are creating / applying in your businesses to give you an edge. It may be automating processes, interfacing with machines, ECommerce, robotics, explorations of AI it may be approaches to getting people back to work safely.

4 Likes

As a consultant, I can only offer what I’ve done for customers that has been the most useful. The biggest “wow, that will save us hours every day” comments are from Process Automation - Removing the number of steps taken in Epicor to complete a variety of tasks.

4 Likes

Working on retrofitting old 40s-present paper equipment with PLCs. We developed the whole system from the ground up using Horner PLCs, Ignition Automation software, REST, and Epicor to get them to talk to Epicor. Integrated Socked messages with Epicor dashboard to show PLC status and run information directly to the operators.

Also integrated overhead paging with Epicor Functions so if someone needs a supervisor override, we hit the paging function and call over our PA via a broadcast for a supervisor to that resource that triggered the BPM

Wordpress plugin developed to extend and maintain integrations between our site and Epicor as well. Integrations are for an order tracker and invoice/aging inquiry.

I think that’s about the extent of the really neat stuff we did in the last year.

Oh yeah and @josecgomez helped. He wanted me to make sure I mentioned that. Good thing you taught that java class so we could extend Ignition!

9 Likes

We are using async c# methods in BPMS to fire events (using REST services) with relevant order/shipment data to an AWS Kinesis stream, which is used to then deliver real time order status to consumers on our web site!

2 Likes

Great Jason please provide some examples what specifically did/do you automate I agree process automation is a huge time saver

That’s awesome may reach out for more details

1 Like

Screens shots please that’s neat though